Immeasurably More (Our Love Story), part 1

I am a typical girl, a hopeless romantic and a big dreamer.  At the age of 12, I remember being at a children’s camp and hearing a woman talk about praying for your future mate.  Even at that young age, I began praying for my future husband.  It was probably pretty sporadic at the time, but over the years it became a strong and steady prayer.  At the age of 19, I made a list of character qualities I wanted in my future husband.  Many of them were straight out of Scripture, but some of them were personal preferences.  I would pull this list out from time to time and continue to pray for God’s best for my marriage.  At age 29, I was still praying over this list periodically and continued to pray strongly for somone to share my life with.  God and I had had some talks about why I had such a powerful desire for marriage and family and yet remained single, something I did not understand and had to repeatedly surrender to Him. 

 

So, in 2003, I sat at a restaurant, waiting to meet a blind date.  Someone had suggested about a month prior that the two of us meet.  We had already exchanged emails and phone conversations.  I really didn’t know if anything good could come from a blind date, due to some of my past experiences, but something about this man intrigued me enough to try again.

Leave a Reply

