Scars Have A Story

I have a scar that runs the entire length of my back, approximately 18 inches long. Every scar tells a story. My scar is from surgeries related to my crooked spine, otherwise known as scoliosis. Scoliosis was first detected in 7th grade. You remember those mandatory checks at school? Well, my 7th grade counselor referred us to an orthopedic surgeon after that standard check, and Dr H followed the progression of my spine’s curvature for several years. Within weeks after graduating from high school, I faced my first major back surgery. Metal rods were put into my back, held onto my spine by screws. Bone mass was taken from another part of my body and fused to my vertebrae. Six days I was in the hospital, coming home without being able to bend over and tie my own shoes. Gradually my body adjusted to the objects placed inside and my spine began to straighten out as I grew stronger. I started college just two months later, a picture of perfect health, and with a story to tell about my scar.

scoliosis-xray-female

I have a scar inside my heart. This one is not a visible scar, no, but it still has a story. This particular scar is from emotional wounds gathered over time. An ugly remark made by a classmate, a betrayal from a teenage friend, a broken heart in college, losing a parent as an adult…and the list goes on. Times I have been wounded, injured, felt unloved and alone.

I can look at these scars and remember the hurt, remember when and where it occurred and how it made me feel. OR I can look at the scar and realize that scars are a sign of healing. Wikipedia says “Medically, a scar results from the biologic process of wound repair in the skin and other tissues of the body. Thus, scarring is a natural part of the healing process. With the exception of very minor lesions, every wound results in some degree of scarring.”

So yes, my scars have a story to tell, but it is one of healing, not hurt.

My scars tell of redemption, not wrong-doing.

The best scar story is the one of our Lord Jesus. His scars save us more than we can ever know. Because of His scars, I have eternal life. Because of His scars, I see forgiveness instead of consequences of my sin. I have life because of His scars.

But He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our guilt and iniquities; the chastisement needful to obtain peace and well-being for us was upon Him, and with the stripes that wounded Him we are healed and made whole. Isaiah 53:5 (The Amplified Bible)

One thought on “Scars Have A Story

Leave a Reply

