A Gratitude Journey

I want to tell you something.  Are you ready?  (Deep Breath)

OK.  Here it goes:  I struggle with comparison.

You want to know something else?

Comparison is the biggest enemy of contentment.

Pastor and author Steven Furtick puts it this way, “The reason a lot of us deal with insecurity is because we are comparing our behind the scenes with everyone else’s highlight reel.”

In this day and age of social media, it’s pretty easy to think that everyone else throws the best birthday parties, has a family that always looks put together, has perfect hair and perfect skin and even the perfect lighting for their photo.  It’s kind of insane.

Maybe I’m the only one who struggles with this.  But maybe, just maybe, you are with me some days.

So the question remains:  What do we do about it?  How do we combat comparison?

One way is to practice gratitude.

I Thessalonians 5:16 says, “Be joyful always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

I’ve noticed that when I start taking time to list what I DO have, I don’t seem to dwell so much on what I don’t have.

I’d like to ask you to join me on a gratitude journey.  Would you?

For the next 30 days, starting Monday, October 27th for me, (which incidentally brings us right up to the week of Thanksgiving, an entire holiday devoted to gratitude), I will be posting at least one thing a day that I am grateful for.  Big or little, it doesn’t matter.  Just one thing.

Would you do that with me?  Who’s in?  Let’s use the hashtag #30daysofthanks once we’ve posted something – the social media platform you choose is up to you.  Or pen and journal works just fine also.  Using the hashtag #30daysofthanks on social media will simply allow us to glimpse a small community of gratitude seekers.  And that hashtag is likely already being used, but since I’m not comparing myself to whoever thought of it first, I think it’s OK to jump in on that party :).  (See what I did there?!)  I would just love to be able to see what others are taking the time to be grateful for.  And I bet gratitude grows.  What do you think?

Comment on this post if you’ll be joining this gratitude journey.

Let’s give thanks together! #30DaysofThanks

thankful

One thought on “A Gratitude Journey

Leave a Reply

