2015: Bye Felicia! (Why I’m glad to say good bye to 2015 & hello to 2016)

2015 photo

2015 wasn’t my favorite.  And while nothing major or life-altering happened negatively, there was just a heaviness over a lot of the year.  Relationships were strained, finances were difficult, depression and anxiety decided to show up and stick around awhile and no matter what I tried, things were just difficult.

Now please know that I am not being a Debbie Downer, I absolutely cherish and love so many moments from 2015.  I have a sweet, amazing family.  My friendships are rich, my job is fulfilling.  I work for an incredible organization.  I was a part of many neat events.  Our home is my happy place and it’s warm and cozy.  I see blessings every day that I am thankful for and so not worthy of.  Jesus is my rock and gives me unconditional love daily.

But I think it’s OK to say it if you’ve had a tough year. 

So I say with exuberance, “Bye, Felicia!” to 2015 & “Hello!” to 2016.

I absolutely love new beginnings….I’m one of those people who is a sucker for fresh planners, empty calendars pages, new pens, and a new start.  On January 1st, 2016, I literally felt a release, as a sense of peace and expectation washed over me.  And I was so grateful.

So let’s look together, in 2016, with fresh faces and opportunities, no matter what kind of 2015 you had.  Maybe your 2015 was good.  Great, let’s celebrate that and see what 2016 has to offer.  Maybe your 2015 brought some hurts that you are reeling from.  If at all possible, let’s leave those in 2015.  2016 is new.  It’s different.  It opens new possibilities. And for me, I believe it brings restoration and rebuilding.  Maybe it does for you, too.  Who will join me in saying, “Hello, 2016-Can I give you a hug??”

Isaiah 43:19 “See, I am doing a new thing!  Now  it springs up; do you not perceive it?  I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.”

Leave a Reply

